Software price guides Accounting FreshBooks
Last updated
FreshBooks pricing in the UK
FreshBooks has four UK plans: Lite at £16 a month, Plus at £30 and Premium at £42, with Select on quote. Each plan caps the number of clients you can bill, and every extra team member costs £8 a month on top.
- Starting price
- £16/month
- Lite, GBP excl. VAT
- Pricing model
- Flat monthly plans capped by billable clients
- Plus £8 per extra team member
- Billing
- Monthly or yearly
- 10% off yearly
- Tax
- VAT not stated
- Prices in GBP; terms say taxes are added on top
- YOY change
- ↑ 7%
- Average yearly rise, 3 plans
- Last updated
- 12 Oct 2026
How much does FreshBooks cost in the UK?
Plans
Four plans, billed monthly or yearly, in GBP.
| Plan | Monthly | Annual, per month | Who it is for | Key limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lite | £16 | £14 | Send unlimited invoices to up to 5 clients | Key limits
|
| Plus | £30 | £27 | Send unlimited invoices to up to 50 clients | Key limits
|
| Premium | £42 | £38 | Send unlimited invoices to an unlimited number of clients | Key limits
|
| Select | Contact sales | Not offered | Talk to a Consultant | Key limits
|
Additional costs
Costs on top of the plan price.
| Cost | Price | Source |
|---|---|---|
| VAT | 20% if addedNot stated on the UK pricing page; terms say taxes are added on top | |
| Extra team members | £8 eachPer user, monthly; owner included, 2 more on Select | |
| Lite client cap | 5 clients, then Plus at £30Hard cap on billable clients | |
| Plus client cap | 50 clients, then Premium at £42Hard cap on billable clients | |
| Advanced Payments | £15 a monthOptional, monthly; included on Select | |
| Managed payments surcharge | 0.6% on top of the card feePer payment via Advanced Payments or AutoCollect | |
| Card payments on invoices (Stripe) | 1.5% + £0.20 standard UK cards; 2.5% + £0.20 EU cards; 3.25% + £0.20 internationalPer transaction | |
| BACS Direct Debit (Stripe) | 1% + £0.20, capped at £4 on Lite and Plus; £2 on Premium and SelectPer transaction, capped | |
| Card payments via Barclaycard | From 1% + £0.15Per transaction, qualifying customers | |
| Select plan | Not publicly listedQuote only | |
| Mazuma bookkeeping | Not publicly listedOptional add-on, Select only | |
| Late subscription payments | 1.5% a monthInterest on overdue fees | |
| Cancelling | Rest of the paid periodRefund only in the first 30 days after purchase |
FreshBooks cost calculator
Enter your numbers to price every plan. Estimates in GBP, excluding VAT.
Your numbers
Estimated cost, Lite
£16a month
- Per year, billed monthly
- £192
- Per year, billed annually
- £173Saves £19
- First 3 months, 50% off
- £8 a month
- First year with the offer
- £168
Line items, monthly
- Lite subscription
- £16
- Estimated monthly total
- £16
Estimated, GBP, excluding VAT. Offer: New customer offer, 50% off for 3 months.
What FreshBooks costs by company size
Estimated cost by number of employees, using the cheapest plan that fits each end of the band.
| Employees | Plans | Monthly cost | Annual cost | |||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 to 10 | Lite | £16 to £32 | £16 | to | £32 | £192 to £384 | £192 | to | £384 | |||
| 11 to 50 | Lite | £32 to £72 | £32 | to | £72 | £384 to £864 | £384 | to | £864 | |||
| 51 to 200 | Lite | £72 to £168 | £72 | to | £168 | £864 to £2,016 | £864 | to | £2,016 | |||
| 201 to 500 | Lite | £168 to £328 | £168 | to | £328 | £2,016 to £3,936 | £2,016 | to | £3,936 | |||
FreshBooks discount codes and offers
Current FreshBooks offers in the UK, checked 12 October 2026.
-
New customer offer
50% off Lite, Plus or Premium for 3 months
New customers; limited period; no free trial with it; cannot be combined with other offers
-
Yearly billing
10% off: Lite £173, Plus £324, Premium £454 a year
Paid upfront; stacks with the new customer offer
-
Free trial
30 days free, no card needed
New accounts
-
30-day money-back guarantee
Full refund within 30 days of purchase
First 30 days after buying a plan
-
Referral from a FreshBooks user
90% off for 90 days
Via referral link
Signed up through an existing customer's referral link
-
Free accountant access
Up to 10 accountants at no cost
Plus, Premium and Select only
How to negotiate FreshBooks's price
FreshBooks does not advertise negotiated deals in the UK, so these levers come from how it charges, ranked by likely saving.
| Rank | Lever | How it works | What it can save |
|---|---|---|---|
| [01] | Delete finished clients to stay under the cap | Lite allows 5 and Plus 50 billable clients, counting archived ones. Deleted clients do not count and can be restored later. | £14 a month (Lite against Plus) or £12 (Plus against Premium) |
| [02] | Pay yearly | Yearly billing is 10% off and is billed upfront: Lite £173, Plus £324, Premium £454 a year. | £19 to £50 a year |
| [03] | Sign up through a referral link | A link from an existing customer gives 90% off for 90 days, against 50% off for 3 months on the pricing page. | About £36 more on Plus over 3 months |
| [04] | Invite your accountant for free | Plus and above allow up to 10 accountants at no cost. Do not give an accountant a paid team member seat. | £8 a month per accountant |
| [05] | Prune team member seats | Each extra team member is £8 a month. Remove seats for people who have left or only need occasional access. | £8 per seat a month |
| [06] | Drop Advanced Payments unless you need it | It costs £15 a month and managed payments carry 0.6% on top of the card fee. Ordinary invoice payments do not need it. | £15 a month plus 0.6% per managed payment |
| [07] | Steer clients to direct debit | Cards cost 1.5% + £0.20 for standard UK cards. BACS Direct Debit is 1% + £0.20, capped at £4, or £2 on Premium. | Up to 0.5% of each payment, more on large invoices |
| [08] | Lock in before the next price rise | FreshBooks gives at least 30 days' notice. In 2026, yearly plans bought before the cut-off kept the old price for a year. | Leverage only |
FreshBooks price history
Monthly list prices over the last two years, excluding VAT. Pick a plan, or hover for each change.
Key points
- Lite, the entry plan: +7% in two years, £15 to £16.
- Plus moved most: +20%, £25 to £30.
- Average across 3 plans: +17% since Oct 2024.
- Last change: 27 Jan 2026.
FreshBooks alternatives
Other tools in our price guides for the UK, largest first by market share.
| Vendor | Starting price | Pricing model | Key difference | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Xero | £7 a month (Simple) | Flat monthly plans, plus per-person payroll and usage charges | Payroll per person and payments past an allowance charged on top | Price guides |
| Sage | £20 a month (Sage Accounting Start) | Flat monthly plans with user caps (Sage Accounting), user and company bands (Sage 50), plus per-employee payroll | Two products: Sage Accounting in the cloud and Sage 50 on the desktop | Price guides |
| QuickBooks | £10 a month (Sole Trader Plus) | Flat monthly plans capped by users, payroll base fee plus per employee | Each tier caps users; payroll is a base fee plus per employee | Price guides |
| FreeAgent | £10 a month (Landlord) | One plan priced by business type, free with a NatWest Group business account | Free with a NatWest Group business account | Price guides |
| Zoho Books | Free plan; paid from £12 a month (Standard) | Flat price per organisation, plus extra users and add-ons | Extra users £2.50 each a month | Price guides |
FreshBooks pricing questions
FreshBooks pricing sources and methodology
- FreshBooks UK pricing 12 Oct 2026
- FreshBooks price change 2026 FAQ 12 Oct 2026
- FreshBooks Stripe Standard transaction fees 12 Oct 2026
- FreshBooks BACS Direct Debit (UK) 12 Oct 2026
- FreshBooks UK online payments 12 Oct 2026
- FreshBooks: What is the pricing? 12 Oct 2026
- FreshBooks: How do I upgrade my account? 12 Oct 2026
- FreshBooks: How do I invite and manage team members? 12 Oct 2026
- FreshBooks: How do I refer FreshBooks to others? 12 Oct 2026
- FreshBooks: Does FreshBooks charge sales tax on my account? 12 Oct 2026
- FreshBooks terms of service 12 Oct 2026
- Wayback Machine snapshot, 2 October 2024 12 Oct 2026
- Wayback Machine snapshot, 17 June 2025 12 Oct 2026
- Wayback Machine snapshot, 8 November 2025 12 Oct 2026
- Wayback Machine snapshot, 25 March 2026 12 Oct 2026
- Xero UK pricing plans 12 Oct 2026
- QuickBooks UK pricing 12 Oct 2026
Estimates from published list prices on 12 October 2026. Check FreshBooks's own pricing page before buying. Ensurva is not affiliated with FreshBooks.