Software price guides Accounting FreeAgent
Last updated
FreeAgent pricing in the US
FreeAgent sells one US plan, US$27 a month or US$270 a year, for sole proprietors, partnerships, LLCs and corporations alike. Users are unlimited, and the main extra cost is US$6 a month for unlimited Smart Capture.
- Starting price
- US$27/month
- US Businesses, USD excl. sales tax
- Pricing model
- One flat plan for every US business type
- Plus optional add-ons
- Billing
- Monthly or annual
- Annual is 12 months for the price of 10
- Tax
- Sales tax not stated
- All prices in USD
- YOY change
- Not enough history
- Last updated
- 12 Oct 2026
How much does FreeAgent cost in the US?
Plans
One plan for all US business types, billed monthly or annually.
| Plan | Monthly | Annual, per month | Who it is for | Key limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| US Businesses | US$27 | US$23 | The US account type is for USA-based businesses. | Key limits
|
Additional costs
Costs on top of the plan price.
| Cost | Price | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Smart Capture Unlimited | US$6 a monthMonthly add-on, past 10 files a month | |
| Other optional add-ons | Not publicly listedBought inside the account | |
| Each additional business | Full subscription per businessSeparate FreeAgent account | |
| Annual billing | US$270 a year (US$23 a month)Paid upfront for 12 months | |
| Sales tax on the subscription | Not publicly listedNot stated on the US pricing page | |
| Cancelling | No refund for unused timeTakes effect immediately | |
| Setup fees | US$0None |
FreeAgent cost calculator
Enter your numbers to price every plan. Estimates in USD, excluding sales tax.
Your numbers
Estimated cost, US Businesses
US$27a month
- Per year, billed monthly
- US$324
- Per year, billed annually
- US$270Saves US$54
- First 6 months, 50% off
- US$14 a month
- First year with the offer
- US$243
Line items, monthly
- US Businesses subscription
- US$27
- Estimated monthly total
- US$27
Estimated, USD, excluding sales tax. Offer: New customer offer, 50% off for 6 months.
What FreeAgent costs by company size
Estimated cost by number of employees, using the cheapest plan that fits each end of the band.
| Employees | Plans | Monthly cost | Annual cost | |||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 to 10 | US Businesses | US$27 | US$27 | US$324 | US$324 | |||||||
| 11 to 50 | US Businesses | US$27 | US$27 | US$324 | US$324 | |||||||
| 51 to 200 | US Businesses | US$27 | US$27 | US$324 | US$324 | |||||||
| 201 to 500 | US Businesses | US$27 | US$27 | US$324 | US$324 | |||||||
FreeAgent discount codes and offers
Current FreeAgent offers in the US, checked 12 October 2026.
-
New customer offer, monthly
50% off for 6 months: US$14 a month
Direct subscriptions only; never paid for FreeAgent before; not via the app or third parties
-
New customer offer, annual
50% off the first year: US$135
Direct subscriptions only; then US$270 a year
-
Annual billing
12 months for the price of 10
Paid upfront; US$270 a year
-
30-day free trial
30 days free
No credit card required; one trial per account holder
-
Refer a friend
10% off for both, ongoing
Code Referral code from a customer
While both stay subscribed; applied after the new customer offer; excludes add-ons
-
Through an accountant or bookkeeper
Partner pricing; size not published
Clients on a FreeAgent partner's Practice Dashboard
How to negotiate FreeAgent's price
FreeAgent does not advertise negotiated deals in the US, so these levers come from how it charges, ranked by likely saving.
| Rank | Lever | How it works | What it can save |
|---|---|---|---|
| [01] | Take the new customer offer on annual billing | 50% off the first year makes it US$135, against US$243 on monthly billing: 6 months at US$14, then 6 at US$27. | US$108 in year one |
| [02] | Pay annually after year one | US$270 a year against US$324 on monthly billing: 12 months for the price of 10. | US$54 a year |
| [03] | Refer other businesses | Each referral takes 10% off your subscription for as long as both stay; 10 referrals make it free. | US$2.70 a month per referral |
| [04] | Stay within 10 Smart Capture files | 10 files a month are included; the unlimited add-on is US$6 a month. Batch or enter the rest by hand. | US$6 a month |
| [05] | Add users instead of accounts | Users, clients and projects are unlimited at no cost, but each business needs its own US$27 account. Keep one entity per account and share logins by role. | US$27 a month per account avoided |
| [06] | Buy through an accountant | FreeAgent partner practices get discounted client licences. Ask whether yours passes the discount on. | Not published |
| [07] | Use the trial fully before paying | The 30-day trial needs no card, and the 50% offer starts at the first payment. | One month's fee |
| [08] | Lock in before any price rise | FreeAgent gives notice before fees rise, and the US price has held at US$27 since at least September 2024. Switching to annual when notice comes fixes the rate for a year. | Leverage only |
FreeAgent price history
Monthly list prices over the last two years, excluding sales tax. Pick a plan, or hover for each change.
Key points
FreeAgent alternatives
Other tools in our price guides for the US, largest first by market share.
| Vendor | Starting price | Pricing model | Key difference | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| QuickBooks | Free plan; paid from US$20 a month (Lite) | Flat monthly plans capped by users, payroll per employee and payment fees extra | Adding staff can force a tier change; payroll sold separately | Price guides |
| Xero | US$27 a month (Early) | Flat monthly plans, plus add-ons and payment fees | Early caps invoices and bills; Gusto payroll US$36 plus US$6 per person | Price guides |
| FreshBooks | US$23 a month (Lite) | Tiers capped by billable clients, plus US$11 per team member and add-ons | Team members US$11 each a month; payroll US$40 plus US$6 per person | Price guides |
| Zoho Books | Free plan; paid from US$20 a month (Standard) | Free plan plus flat plans per organisation, extra users and add-ons per month | Extra users US$3 each a month | Price guides |
| Sage | US$73 a month (Sage 50 Desktop Pro) | One-year subscriptions by user band, cloud and Desktop editions priced separately, plus payroll and add-ons | Sage 50 only; Sage Accounting closed in the US | Price guides |
FreeAgent pricing questions
FreeAgent pricing sources and methodology
- FreeAgent US pricing 12 Oct 2026
- FreeAgent terms of service 12 Oct 2026
- FreeAgent US FAQs 12 Oct 2026
- FreeAgent: Setting up your account (US account types) 12 Oct 2026
- FreeAgent: How Smart Capture works 12 Oct 2026
- FreeAgent US referrals 12 Oct 2026
- FreeAgent: Cancel your subscription 12 Oct 2026
- FreeAgent: Set up payroll (UK account types only) 12 Oct 2026
- FreeAgent Partner Programme 12 Oct 2026
- Wayback Machine snapshots of freeagent.com/us/pricing 12 Oct 2026
- FreeAgent blog: FreeAgent America (2012) 12 Oct 2026
- Xero US pricing plans 12 Oct 2026
- QuickBooks Online pricing 12 Oct 2026
Estimates from published list prices on 12 October 2026. Check FreeAgent's own pricing page before buying. Ensurva is not affiliated with FreeAgent.