Software price guides Accounting FreshBooks

Last updated

FreshBooks pricing in Australia

FreshBooks has four plans in Australia, from Lite for up to 5 clients to Select, which is priced by quote. Each plan is a flat monthly fee in AUD capped by how many clients you bill, and every team member past the owner costs A$16 a month.

Country
Starting price
A$29/month
Lite, AUD excl. GST
Pricing model
Tiers capped by billable clients
Plus a fee per extra team member
Billing
Monthly or yearly
10% off yearly
Tax
GST not stated
Prices in AUD; terms say before tax
YOY change
↑ 10%
Average yearly rise, 3 plans
Last updated
12 Oct 2026

How much does FreshBooks cost in Australia?

Plans

Four plans, billed monthly or yearly at 10% off, in AUD before any GST.

FreshBooks plans in Australia
Plan Monthly Annual, per month Who it is for Key limits
Lite
A$29
A$26
Send invoices to 5 clients
Key limits
  • Billable clients: 5
  • Team members: Owner only, then A$16 each
  • Accountant access: No
  • Double-entry reports and bank reconciliation: No
  • Advanced Payments: A$28 a month
Plus
A$43
A$39
Send invoices to 50 clients
Key limits
  • Billable clients: 50
  • Team members: Owner only, then A$16 each
  • Accountant access: Up to 10, free
  • Double-entry reports and bank reconciliation: Yes
  • Advanced Payments: A$28 a month
Premium
A$60
A$54
Send invoices to unlimited clients
Key limits
  • Billable clients: Unlimited
  • Team members: Owner only, then A$16 each
  • Accountant access: Up to 10, free
  • Project profitability and bills: Yes
  • Advanced Payments: A$28 a month
Select
Contact sales
Not offered
Gain access to dedicated phone support
Key limits
  • Price: Contact sales
  • Billable clients: Unlimited
  • Team members: 2 included, then A$16 each
  • Accountant access: Up to 10, free
  • Advanced Payments: Included
  • Card fees: Lower rates

Additional costs

Costs on top of the plan price.

Additional costs
Cost Price Source
Extra team members
A$16 eachPer user, monthly
Billable client limit
Lite to Plus A$14 a month more; Plus to Premium A$17 a month moreHard cap; upgrade to add more
Accountant access on Lite
A$14 a month moreNeeds Plus or above
Advanced Payments
A$28 a monthOptional, monthly; included on Select
Managed payments fee
0.6% extraPer transaction, on Advanced Payments and AutoCollect
Card payments on invoices (Stripe)
1.65% + A$0.30 domestic; 2.8% + A$0.30 international from 1 April 2027Per transaction
GST on the subscription
Not publicly listed for AustraliaAdded on top of quoted prices, per FreshBooks' terms
Overdue subscription fees
1.5% a monthInterest, monthly

FreshBooks cost calculator

Enter your numbers to price every plan. Estimates in AUD, excluding GST.

Your numbers

Plan

Estimated cost, Plus

A$43a month

Per year, billed monthly
A$516
Per year, billed annually
A$464Saves A$52
First 3 months, 50% off
A$22 a month
First year with the offer
A$452

Line items, monthly

Plus subscription
A$43
Estimated monthly total
A$43

Estimated, AUD, excluding GST. Offer: New customer offer, 50% off.

What FreshBooks costs by company size

Estimated cost by number of employees, using the cheapest plan that fits each end of the band.

Estimated cost by company size
Employees Plans Monthly cost Annual cost
1 to 10 Lite A$29 to A$61 A$29 to A$61 A$348 to A$732 A$348 to A$732
11 to 50 Lite A$61 to A$141 A$61 to A$141 A$732 to A$1,692 A$732 to A$1,692
51 to 200 Lite A$141 to A$333 A$141 to A$333 A$1,692 to A$3,996 A$1,692 to A$3,996
201 to 500 Lite A$333 to A$653 A$333 to A$653 A$3,996 to A$7,836 A$3,996 to A$7,836

FreshBooks discount codes and offers

Current FreshBooks offers in Australia, checked 12 October 2026.

How to negotiate FreshBooks's price

FreshBooks does not advertise negotiated deals, so these levers come from how it charges in Australia, ranked by likely saving.

How to negotiate FreshBooks's price
Rank Lever How it works What it can save
[01]
Pay yearly
Yearly billing takes 10% off, paid upfront: Plus falls from A$43 to A$39 a month.
A$35 to A$72 a year
[02]
Start through a referral link
A customer's referral link gives 90% off for 90 days, against 50% off for 3 months on the pricing page.
Up to A$72 more on Premium over 3 months
[03]
Delete clients you no longer bill
Archived clients count towards the cap; deleted ones do not, and can be restored. Staying under 5 or 50 keeps you on a cheaper plan.
A$14 a month (Lite) or A$17 a month (Plus)
[04]
Invite your accountant as an accountant
Accountants are free, up to 10, on Plus and above. Invited under another role, each one costs a team member seat.
A$16 a month per accountant
[05]
Prune paid team members
Each paid seat is A$16 a month. Unassigned team members are free, so unassign people who no longer log in.
A$16 a month per seat
[06]
Drop Advanced Payments unless you use it
It costs A$28 a month and adds a 0.6% fee on card payments it manages.
A$28 a month plus 0.6% of managed payments
[07]
Price Select against Premium with add-ons
Select includes 2 team members, Advanced Payments and lower card fees. Premium with 2 extra seats and Advanced Payments lists at A$120 a month.
Not published
[08]
Lock in before a price rise
FreshBooks gives at least 30 days' notice, and a yearly plan holds its price for the year. In March 2026 Lite rose A$5 and Plus A$7.
Leverage only

FreshBooks price history

Monthly list prices over the last two years, excluding GST. Pick a plan, or hover for each change.

Show
A$30A$35A$40A$45A$50Oct 2024Oct 2025Oct 2026

Key points

  • Lite, the entry plan: +21% in two years, A$24 to A$29.
  • Average across 3 plans: +20% since Oct 2024.
  • Last change: 5 Mar 2026.

FreshBooks alternatives

Other tools in our price guides for Australia, largest first by market share.

FreshBooks alternatives
VendorStarting pricePricing modelKey difference
Xero
A$37 a month (Ignite)
Flat monthly plans, plus usage charges
Payroll included in every plan
Price guides
MYOB
A$11 a month (Solo by MYOB)
Flat plans, monthly or yearly, plus per-employee payroll on Lite and Pro
Entry plans billed yearly
Price guides
QuickBooks
A$33 a month (Simple Start)
Flat plans capped by users, payroll per employee extra
Payroll charged separately
Price guides
Reckon
A$24 a month (Reckon One Accounting Plus)
Flat cloud plans, payroll in employee bands, per user Hosted and desktop
Australian-built; payroll sold by headcount band
Price guides
Zoho Books
Free plan; paid from A$20 a month (Standard)
Per organisation plans, plus extra users
Free plan below a revenue threshold
Price guides
FreeAgent
A$32 a month (Universal)
One flat plan, unlimited users
One flat US dollar plan; not localised for Australia
Price guides

FreshBooks pricing questions

Lite is A$29, Plus A$43 and Premium A$60 a month, in AUD. Select is priced by quote. Extra team members are A$16 each a month.

Not stated on the pricing page. FreshBooks' terms say prices are quoted before GST, which may be added on top.

Yes. Yearly billing is 10% off: A$313 for Lite, A$464 for Plus and A$648 for Premium, paid upfront.

A$16 a month per team member. Accountants are free, up to 10, on Plus, Premium and Select.

Lite allows 5 billable clients, Plus 50, and Premium and Select unlimited. Archived clients count; deleted clients do not.

Yes. From 5 March 2026, Lite rose from A$24 to A$29 and Plus from A$36 to A$43. FreshBooks says Premium stayed at A$60.

Yes. There is a 30-day free trial with no card, or 50% off for 3 months for new customers. The two cannot be combined.

No. FreshBooks Payroll, powered by Gusto, is for US businesses only.

FreshBooks pricing sources and methodology

From FreshBooks's Australian pricing pages on 12 October 2026. Where sources disagree, FreshBooks's own page wins.

Estimates from list prices, excluding GST, before payment fees.

Archived copies of FreshBooks's pricing pages from October 2024 to October 2026, plus FreshBooks's announcements. Standard prices, no promotions.

Drawn from how FreshBooks charges, not from records of negotiated deals.

Ordered by Ensurva's estimate of each vendor's share of business customers in this country, from surveys, vendor customer counts, government software registers and review volume. Only tools with their own Ensurva price guide are listed.

Checked monthly. The date at the top is the last check.

Estimates from published list prices on 12 October 2026. Check FreshBooks's own pricing page before buying. Ensurva is not affiliated with FreshBooks.

Trial Ensurva for free and see immediate cost savings

Connect your tools and start optimising your costs with no obligation to continue after your trial ends.